{She Reads Truth} A Fresh Start & God’s Renewal

Happy New Year everyone! I hope everyone is having an amazing 2014 already. This year I hope to blog more often and connect with more readers. And more importantly, I hope to become even closer to God. 2013 was a crazy busy year. I am still experiencing the fruits of that year – like waiting for my baby to be born (which will be soon).

I’ve returned to one of my favorite places to get closer to God and his word and that is by participating in She Reads Truth. Since finding that web site about a year and a half ago, it has really helped me to deepen my relationship with the Lord. So, I am definitely trying to make time and space for SRT in my prayer life this year. It would be great if you would join us.

She Reads Truth has just launched a new plan. It is called “A Fresh Start.” I don’t know about you but this theme is perfect for my life right now. God always allows us (beckons us) to start anew with Him. So, it is also no surprise that our  Day 1 and Day 2 bible readings were in Genesis – chapters 1 & 2. Both chapters showed us how God created everything. He is our Creator. He knew the end of the story in the beginning.  He knew we would sin but still gave us life and always loves us. This thought is just too powerful for words.

There is one author

God also created both man and woman in His image. (Genesis 1:26-27). and he didn’t exalt either sex over the other or devalue the other sex. As  a woman, I found these bible verses so comforting and life affirming. One sex is not better or greater than the other. Thank you God!

I was also challenged by the same affirming verse. If we are created in God’s image, what does it mean? My study bible came in handy here. It said that (1) we are reflections of God’s glory; (2) we have the ability to reflect his character in love, patience, forgiveness, kindness, and faithfulness; (3) it is the basis for our self-worth. So if God created me in his image, I have to live up to that. I need to work on being more loving, patient, forgiving, kind and faithful.

I also realized that if we are created in God’s image, we have God’s power in us (the Holy Spirit). Genesis 2:7 says that “And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being.”  God breathed us.

God created the entire world with his thoughts and words. And the bible often talks about the power of our words and the renewing of our minds. Being created in God’s image gives us the ability to create through our thoughts and words because of God’s power in us. It is a God working through us. We should be very mindful and prayerful about our thoughts and words this year.  This is my goal and prayer.

The Old is New

I’m left with feeling so thankful for God’s constant love and renewal.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Cor 5:17.

Thank you SRT and God for giving me this message. I’d love to hear what is on your hearts and in your minds as you begin 2014. Do you feel a sense of renewal? Are you praying to become closer to God too?

Praying for God’s renewal,
Hope

Leave a comment